04/03/2019- The results are in from yesterday’s election in Marinette County. In local contested races:
In the Town of Peshtigo race for Town Board Chairperson, Herman Pottraz defeated Denise Wiedemeier 566-449.
For Supervisor 1, Daniel Staudenmeier defeated Tim Bergeson 530-472, and for the Supervisor 2 slot, it was John Drees over Mark Monnette 555-449.
Challenger Kurt Kostuch beat out incumbent John Deschane 124-106 for Crivitz Village President.
For the Crivitz School Board, winning seats were Michael Frievalt with 804 votes, incumbent Amy Grandaw with 778, and Kayla Gauthier- Ihde, 685.
In the Town of Pound, for the Supervisor 2 positions, the top vote-getters were Dennis Fiedorowicz with 214 votes and John Gaffney with 150.
Incumbent Travis Mueller was re-elected to the Town of Lake Board, defeating challenger William Retza Sr. 146-84.
A referendum to convert the Marinette School Board make-up to all at-large seats passed 772-328.
There were some uncontested races for Marinette City Council. Ward 1 Alderperson Ken Keller and Alderperson At-Large Dorothy Kowalski were unchallenged and retained their respective seats. There will be a new Alderperson in Ward 4 where Dave Anderson ran unopposed to fill the seat being vacated by Brian Walters.